Thanks Giving

Since this Thursday is the Thanksgiving holiday it seems like a good time to count my blessings.

I once heard that a good recipe for prayer is to include Praise, Thanks, Confession, Intercession for others and Petitions. I try to follow that pattern in my nightly prayers, so I am kept aware of many of my blessings.

Those I include every night are thanks for:

  • my salvation
  • my children (this includes my sons and their loved ones)
  • all the terrible things that did not happen that day
  • my mother (still able to get around pretty well at 95)
  • my sisters and extended family
  • my friends
  • my circumstances
  • my job
  • my abilities and possibilities
  • my health
  • my home
  • my car

That has become a nightly litany, sometimes recited by rote, but even a hurried repetition makes me aware of all that I have and makes me more sensitive to the people who don’t have my blessings.

Above and beyond the usual blessings, though, are many little, even mundane, things that I usually take for granted. They deserve gratitude, as well.  Like the gift of reading and comprehension. Or being able to see and appreciate beauty.

Some others I can think of are:

  • a sense of humor
  • shoes that don’t hurt my feet
  • music that lifts my spirits, soothes or moves me
  • meeting a challenge and gaining a new accomplishment

Like most people, once I begin to think of anything and everything that brings me joy or pleasure, I find an almost endless list.

Pentacost is a Jewish holiday of thanksgiving. In the New Testament the Holy Spirit came to the believers on Pentacost. Consciously, earnestly counting our blessings and giving thanks nourishes our spirit and keeps us more in tune to The Spirit, even today.

Have a blessed Thanksgiving.

About Jonna Hawker Turek

I write Christian fiction under my maiden name, J.B. Hawker.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

