Heaven Is Real…but are these books?

I was given a little book to read, recently, called “Heaven Is Real”. It tells a pastor’s story of his 4-year-old son’s near death and visit to Heaven.

Although a believer by choice, I am a skeptic by nature and this little book presents me with a bit of a conundrum.

The details the little fellow relates to his family are Biblically sound and reinforce my own beliefs about eternal life.

While occasionally the dialog seems a bit “off” for a child of that age, what bothers me the most is the idea that we can know these details before passing over from this world to the next.

There is an old song by the Monkees called “I’m a Believer” with a phrase that says, “I saw her face, now I’m a believer, not a trace of doubt in my mind.” It is human nature that seeing is believing. We want eye-witness verification.

But that is what the whole “leap of faith” is all about.  Hebrews 1:1 puts it this way,  “Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.”

While I believe that much that is told about Heaven in this book is in accord with the Bible,  I am afraid that I still have my doubts about the authenticity of the events the book describes.

In the New Testament, in John 20:29, Jesus says to Doubting Thomas, “Because you have seen me, you have believed; blessed are those who have not seen and yet have believed.”

God works in mysterious ways, indeed, but I think I will reserve my leap of faith for the truths of the Bible and take this book, and the others like it, with a grain of salt.

About Jonna Hawker Turek

I write Christian fiction under my maiden name, J.B. Hawker.
This entry was posted in Personal Musings, Spirituality. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

