What’s on your mind?

My goal in walking regularly is to control my blood sugar and my weight.  While my route passes under my feet I let my mind wander.  As the four mile trek benefits my physical health, the 35-45 minutes of mindlessness that go along with it are a boon to my mental and emotional well being.

On any given morning my thoughts can range from day-to-day work and family concerns to national events or the latest book I’ve read. On some days all I can think about is my aches and pains.

This morning was a sparkling fall jewel and as I walked I was reveling in the beauty of God’s creation and thinking of the song, “How Great Thou Art”, but what came into my mind’s ear were the words and tune of “He’s Everything to Me”.

I began to murmur the song under my breath and when I came to…”Til by faith I met Him face to face,  and I felt the wonder of His grace, then I knew that He was more than just a God who didn’t care, that lived away out there …and ….. (I was singing aloud by this time)
Now He walks beside me day by day, ever watching o’er me lest I stray, helping me to find that narrow way, He is everything to me.”

…I was surprised as tears welled up and my spirit became buoyant.  The words were more real to me than ever before.  Although I have often sung that song it has never touched me so deeply.

Perhaps it was the lack of my own mental agenda that left me open and available to God.

There will come a time when I am no longer physically able to maintain my walking regimen, I know. I am trying to delay that day as long as possible. But, even more important than my exercise routine is regularly setting aside my mental To-Do list long enough to allow God to speak to me and to remind me that he is, indeed, everything to me.

About Jonna Hawker Turek

I write Christian fiction under my maiden name, J.B. Hawker.
This entry was posted in Personal Musings, Spirituality and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

