Gotta Minute?

“I just don’t have enough time”… “There’s never enough time in thtoo busye day”… “Where did the time go?”… “Time is money”

Time is the new gold standard, a precious possession we cling to; fearful of squandering even a minute, we rush around, tense and fretful. The prospect of wasting time is stressful. This stress takes a toll on our health and peace of mind, and contributes to many of the most prevalent physical and emotional ailments of our culture.

I don’t have a magic pill to expand our days beyond the usual 24 hours or make the hours include more than 60 minutes, but I do have a suggestion for easing the stressful effects of these limits.

Remembering that all time belongs to the One who created it gives me a slightly different perspective.

God generously allots a certain amount of time to each one of us to use according to His will. If I ask His direction in the use of my time, choosing to spend it as His word commands, I can ignore many of the clamoring demands which are so eager to crowd the hours of my days and night. Time spent in the Word and in prayer, or in service to one another in the Lord’s name, have the marvelously counter-intuitive effect of expanding our time.  With more time, we feel less stress and more peace.

When you are feeling stressed for lack of time, pause and ask God which of the opportunities to spend your precious minutes are worth using His time. Your choice should become clear.

 

 

About Jonna Hawker Turek

I write Christian fiction under my maiden name, J.B. Hawker.
This entry was posted in Personal Musings, Spirituality, Women's Ministry. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gotta Minute?

  1. dawnlizjones says:

    YEsss! I also revert to the verse that when we bring “all of our tithes into the storehouse, God will rebuke the devourer.” We think of that concerning money, but it also includes T-I-M-E. This post got my number. God created time, God is in control of time, and He holds my time in His hand (with everything else…) Just think, in Heaven, there will be NO TIME to fret about. Pretty cool, huh? Thanks again.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

